Dallas Historical Society announces service award winners




The Dallas Historical Society has announced the 2013 winners of its Awards for Excellence in Community Service.


This year’s event at the Fairmont Dallas will be chaired by the mother-daughter team of Peggy Carr and Catherine Carr. Honorary chairs for the Nov.12 luncheon are Mr. and Mrs. W.W. Caruth III, longtime Dallas community leaders and philanthropists.


“We look forward to celebrating with Dallas our city’s community leaders at this year’s Awards for Excellence event,” said Margaret Keliher, chair of the Dallas Historical Society.

The award categories and winners are:

Arts leadership: Patricia Porter, an arts and cultural affairs professional, consultant and community volunteer.

Business: Garrett Boone, co-founder and chairman emeritus of The Container Store.


Creative arts: Katherine Owens, founder and artistic director of Undermain Theatre.


Education/teacher: David Chard, the first dean of the Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development at SMU.


Education/administration: Michael Sorrell, president of Paul Quinn College. He serves on boards including Duke University’s Sanford School of Public Policy, Amegy Bank, Teach for America and North Texas Public Broadcasting Inc.


Health/sciences: Dr. Carmen Miller Michael, professor emeritus of the Department of Psychiatry at UT Southwestern Medical Center.


Humanities/individual: Trey Hill, an entrepreneur who started Mercy Street ministries in West Dallas in 2003.

Humanities/history: The Dallas Mexican American Historical League, the largest Hispanic historical organization in Dallas. It was founded in 2008 by Jesse and Nellie Tafalla and Albert Gonzalez.


Philanthropy: Abby and Todd Williams, who chair the regional advisory board for Teach for America and helped establish the Williams Preparatory School in Dallas. He is executive director of Commit!, an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to helping Dallas County children realize their full potential.

Leadership/individual: Lois Finkelman, a civic volunteer for more than 30 years. She completed four terms on the Dallas City Council, retiring in 2005. She was the council’s point person on environmental issues and a strong advocate for the Dallas Park and Recreation system.


Volunteer community leadership/organization: The North Texas Food Bank, a Dallas nonprofit hunger relief organization that distributes donated, purchased and prepared foods through a network of more than 340 partner agencies in 13 counties.

Jubilee History Makers: Sheila and Jody Grant, who donated time, expertise and millions of dollars to the creation of Klyde Warren Park.


For tickets and sponsorships, call Nora Lenhart at 214-421-4500, ext. 101.

Please reload

© 2018 by Dallas Mexican American Historical League

P.O. Box 181885 Dallas, TX  75218